What National Football League Records Will Never Be Broken?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
What National Football League Records Will Never Be Broken?

Many clamor that the NFL stands for “not for long.” While that’s attributed to the length of your stay in the league, it could also mean the record books. Nevertheless, some records aren’t meant to break, and these National Football League records will never be broken.

Tampa Bay’s Futility

Before the Tampa Bay Buccaneers became a perennial playoff contender with Tony Dungy at the helm, they were the laughingstock of the NFL. They made losing look like an art form and did that 26 consecutive times from 1976–1977.

With the parity being more common now, it’s hard to imagine any team dominant on the winning or losing spectrum to that magnitude again. Even though the Jacksonville Jaguars held the number one pick over the last two seasons, they had a few wins here and there. To be futile for two full seasons seems unfathomable in today’s game.

Every Interception Record

With the short passing game and the expertise at the quarterback position, it’s safe to assume any record that stands for interceptions will stick until the end of time. That includes Dick Lane’s 14 interceptions for a single season in 1952, Jim Hardy’s 8 interceptions in a single game, and Paul Krause’s 81 career inceptions. To put this in perspective, the current active interception leaders are Devin McCourty and Marcus Peters at 31.

Jerry Rice’s Marks

It never makes sense when people talk about who the NFL’s GOAT is that their mind goes straight to the quarterback position. While Tom Brady deserves the distinction, Jerry Rice should be in the running. Although the league is full of talented receivers, it’s virtually impossible to approach Jerry Rice’s legendary marks. He has the yards (22,895), receptions (1,549), and touchdowns (197) at wide receiver, and his longevity is what makes his numbers unattainable for those playing today.

Emmitt Smith’s Career Rushing Yards

When you look back at the history of the NFL, the running back played a more pivotal role. Yet, running backs have taken a backseat, with the game focusing more on passing. Gone are the days of running backs getting 25–30 carries a game to control the clock. Instead, the current trend is that teams get four to five years out of a running back before tossing him away as damaged goods. Thus, Emmitt Smith’s career record of 18,355 career rushing yards feels safe.

Making 4 Super Bowls and Losing Them

If there were one guarantee in the 1990s, Hulk Hogan would pose at the end of his matches, and the Buffalo Bills would lose the Super Bowl. From 1990–1993, the Bills were the runner-up, losing to three NFC East teams (Giants, Commanders, and the Cowboys twice).

Playing in four straight Super Bowls seems like a lofty ask for a franchise today, but to lose all four of them? Josh Allen will make “Bills Mafia” forget about these dark days sooner or later. However, until then, they are the poster child of coming up short.

Based on the talent and how the game goes, these National Football League records will never be broken and will stand the test of time. If you want to know what records could fall, start with any passing statistic, and work your way from there.

Related Posts

The Camden Chronicle is an award-winning weekly newspaper in Camden, Tennessee.
Contact us: 731-584-7200

© Copyright 2024